ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
T
First, I will state that I am not an electrician.

I do know that electrical codes specify how many receptacles are required in rooms within a dwelling, based on the usage of the room, whether it's "finished,” etc.

If you have a computer at home, and you're not there right now, picture the "computer room" for a moment. If you're at home reading this, take a look at how many "appliances" need to be plugged in.

Some of the systems advertised in the circulars from the Sunday newspaper require an outlet for:

CPU
Monitor
Speakers
DSL/Cable Modem
Printer
Scanner

Even if you have an Uninterruptible Power Supply ("UPS"), which usually has about four, most likely you need more outlets.

If you have a second computer, add on:
CPU
Monitor
Speakers
Network Hub/Router/Switch

Maybe you have a:
Television
Stereo
VCR
DVD

Throw in a lamp (don't throw it too hard), etc. and next thing you know, you need 15 outlets. (So, 8 duplexes should cover that.)

My guess is that almost every person has a "temporary power tap" or something else that is listed for "temporary" use to increase the number of outlets. These "temporary" measures are most likely "permanent."

Is this something that can/should be addressed by the NEC and/or local codes?