ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
I am working as a project inspector for a large project in the San Francisco Bay Area of Califonia. The electrical contractor has supported the EMT conduit and boxes utilizing screws with plastic inserts into the drywall. In my 20+ years as an inspector, I have always required that these supports be into a framing member rather than the drywall. When asked to correct the problem, the contractor indicated that NEC Article 348-12 only requires that the EMT be "securely fastened into place", and that per NEC Article 370-23 the boxes may be "fastened to the surface upon which they are mounted unless the surface does not provide "adequate support". He feels that the drywall with plastic inserts meet these criteria. I disagree. Does anyone have an opinion on this subject, or advice on how to get the contractor to support these items from the framing members.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

S
I don't trust those little plastic slugs for drywall!