ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 274 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#77583 06/24/01 08:37 PM
From "Della" <della@acmgfcu.net>
To: <joetede@ix.netcom.com>

I work in a factory with printing presses and other machines that take printed
cartons and fold and glue them to be sent to other companies who package things like powdered laundry detergent and clumping cat litter in them.

We use mainly EMT and not rigid conduit.

My questions are:

1) Should we pull in equipment grounding wires for the electrical outlet receptacles and lighting (120 volt and 277 volt) instead of relying on the tubing for equipment grounding?

YES

2) Is it okay to replace double insulated tool plugs with 3 prong plugs, although there is no ground wire attached to that plug, or is it necessary to replace them with 2 prong plugs?

NO, USE SAME

3) Is it necessary to bond peices of machinery that have no mechanical connection between, them but are connected through conduit and part of the same system?

YES, TO PREVENT STATIC ELECTRICITY

(example is for equipment that feeds the paper web to the printing presses and rerolls it as it comes off)

Thanks for any help you can give me in these matters.

Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep