ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
S
static Offline OP
Hello,

This is my first time posting, but I have been reading the messages here for some time. I don't do this for a living or anything, just like to learn all I can.

In reading some messages on another message board in the links area, I read a message where a person talked about balancing his loads between phases. He said that if leg 1 was pulling 30 amps and leg 2 was pulling 40 amps, the meter would record the highest usage at 40 amps but if you were to balance the loads, the meter would record a lower overall usage. The question I have, is this the case? It seems as if the power company would want to meter all usage, not just peak.

Thanks,
Static

G
Static,
The power companies use a Watt-hour meter. They will monitor (and therefore charge for) watts used period. You are correct in assuming that load balancing has nothing to do with PoCo charges. It does have to do with conductor heating, neutral sizing, etc.. Nope, you're correct.

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Static,