ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Mike82 Offline OP
I am an electrical engineer working for a large defense contractor. While the money is good and the job is cushy, it is true that money isn't everything, and the job does not offer much satisfaction- sitting behind a computer and updating documentation is not my thing. I know that I need to do something much more hands on.

I've always enjoyed electrical work and so I've decided to apply for an apprenticeship through the local union. I realize that I may take a pay cut for a little while, but in the end it may be worth it in job satisfaction.

My question is, have any of you ever switched from engineering or another professional occupation to the electrical trade? After finishing your apprenticeship training, did you feel that the switch was worth it? Just wanted to hear about some of your experiences!

M
nah, most of us look to switch this field to anything else ;-)

truthfully, a lot will have to do with your current situation:

married? family? age?

if you are young and single it's alot different than if you are trying to support a wife and two kids on an apprentice's wage.

I know this doesn't really answer your questions, but good luck.

M
Mike82 Offline OP