ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
slorch Offline OP
Please forgive the homeowner-type question. I'm a VDV installer, and I've already asked the pro electrician in the family:

My house was built in 2000, with a 200amp lateral-fed service. There is a stranded aluminum GEC running to the area where the water service enters the basement and a #6 copper running out to a buried rod.

That's reasonable. But wait. The water service is via plastic pipe and there is a compression fitting transition to copper 2 inches upstream of the ground clamp for the GEC. There's no way an electrician could miss the pipe being plastic.

I asked the family pro (industrial and motor control, high-volt, etc) about this. His answer was that "You're grounding to the water system, not the pipe, so it's fine".

I'm confused. I seems to be a violation of the NEC as I read it, and I was under the impression that water was not a particlarly good conductor, as compared to metal and earth. Can anyone explain the rationale behind this installation?

-Steve
S
I can't tell you anything about your place because I haven't seen it ... however ... here's a true story: