ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Hey!
I'm a 28 year old student looking into trying out an electrical apprenticeship program. I've found out a lot about the general structure of most apprenticeships...(4years, 8000 hours OJT, 140 Classroom)but am curious what the 'rules' are within various unions.
Do (most) unions require you to work a certain amount of hours a month? or else what?
I must say, I'm a bit bewildered by the thought of endless 40 hour weeks without end. forever and ever. am I being lazy?

Tom Offline
Well, I can't speak for other unions and I can't even speak for other locals of the IBEW, but the local I belong to is not interested in anyone becoming an apprentice that can't work fulltime and put in the required classroom hours. Our local covers a lot of territory and most of it doesn't have a 4 lane highway, so it can be a real challenge for apprentices to make it from work to class & then home in time to catch a few ZZZ's. Those that can't make the sacrifice don't last.

Also, our local has a five year apprenticeship.

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
B
You sound alot like my brother. He went to school to avoid working. Working 40 hours a week is life. Unless you're fortunate to have lots of money.