ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 256 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#5873 12/12/01 10:08 PM
W
I am an electrical contractor in a small town. I have been in the trade for almost thirty years and in business about one year. I have one employee. I am very busy, making good money, and no one is behind in paying me. My competitor down the street has been in business for thirty years and was the only electrical contractor in town until I came along. He has 5 employees. He called me today and offered to sell. As you might imagine, I have a lot of questions.
1. Since I am doing well should I even consider buying his business?
2. How would I determine a fair price?
3. His real estate and equipment might be worth more to me than the "business" itself. I am thinking about offering to buy them and telling him to sell the company to someone else or just close it. Thoughts?
4. If he sells to someone else, or goes out of business, shouldn't that be a boost to my business without doing any more than I am already doing?
5. Have any of you been in a similar situation?
Any comments or suggestions welcome.

#5874 12/13/01 08:02 AM
R