ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#57940 10/23/05 10:48 PM
R
RonH Offline OP
I am not an electrician , but was curious about this. Im working on a job where a large piece of packaging machinery is being installed. The 3 phase and ground for the equipment comes directly from the building service panel to an electrical enclosure on the machine, but there is no dedicated neutral. The electrician on site has taken one leg of the 3 phase power to ground (in the machine electrical enclosure) to derive the 120 volts for control circuitry. Is this is a normal practice and is there any related concerns, safety or otherwise?

Thanks

E
e57 Offline
Not trying to play skeptic, but if you're not an electrician, how are you sure he did this? (Only say that because I have had people second guess my work needlessly before...)