ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 284 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
jayson Offline OP
some guys at work got laid off friday and found out today when they filed unemployment that the company didnot pay into unemployment. what can they do about it? they were denied unemployment because ofit.

L
I am no expert on this subject but if they were employed above board and taxes and such deducted from their paychecks; I would gather my pay stubs and go to the unemployment office with them. They may be able to go after this contractor. Whatever you do DO NOT give up your original pay stubs !! They are your only proof.Might even try talking with the local licensing department.
If they were not having taxes and such held back from their paychecks they may have been listed as sub-contractors and then the tax burden is theirs , and they may not qualify for unemployment.
You are still working there- correct ? You might want to look into this also, Don't want to wish ill harm , but what if you found yourself in the same boat ?

J
jayson Offline OP
yeah im still working there

E
e57 Offline