ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#53853 07/08/05 10:23 PM
P
I have a kinda dumb question, but keep in mind I'm still a student... and EE, not EC.

#1. What is the deal with siemens/murray? I've recently seen a siemens 100A main lug panel, and the same, but Murray. I thought they were the same company. Why use different names on the same panel? Is one better than the other? made different places? or do they draw it out of a hat?

#2. Which, in your opinion or experience, is a better brand of panels/breakers? GE, Siemens/Murray, or Square D? I am having my service redone (hopefully in a month or so), and I would like to specify the type of panel that I want, rather than someone throw in whatever's the cheapest... Although I'm sure anything would be beter than my Zinsco that I have now.

(p.s.) I apologize about my questions because they arent exactly vocational.... the second one might be remotely.

G
Not sure of an answer to your first question, as for the second, I will use Square D every time if its available for the purpose and I can afford it. The price difference is usually small . I'm sure you'll get arguments for other equipment but I don't know anyone who doesn't like Square D.

B