ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
D
derater Offline OP
Was asked to look at an old (1950's) resi lighting system that the cust. says has
momentary rocker switches w/relays-transformer at the fixture. I have no experience w/ this.Any info will be appreciated.

Sounds like the good old 3-wire low voltage relay control system. Despard 1PdT center-off momentary rocker switches, load relays with low voltage control. It is still available today, but not too commom.

The relays are GE (there are probably others), the switching end goes in the outlet box, the low voltage control end is outside the box. The relay has an open coil and a close coil, both coils share a common return wire so the result is a 3-wire control.

A few years ago we installed some large 277/480 panelboards (GE) which had extra large wireway space which included a bunch of the exact same GE relays, only these relays were controlled by the buildings automation system. It actually was pretty cool.

We have a neighborhood nearby which was largly built in the 40's and these homes commonly have this type of switching. The local Ace Hardware store carries the relays and the switches and gouges badly for them (like $25 for a little despard switch and $50 a GE relay).