ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#52471 05/27/05 04:15 AM
A
I have been an electrician for over ten years.I do mostly construction. I have wanted to get into the maintenace electrician field but am not sure of the best way to do it. I have taken Motor control and PLC classes along with some Hydraulics and pnuematics. I dont have the years of actual experience working with these skills but I thought my training would be enough to get me in the door.

Is there some other courses I should take?

Is ITT a good option to look into?

Thanks

#52472 05/27/05 08:39 AM
G
Andy,
Good on ya. Education is the best way to "be all you can be". Keep going, NEVER stop.

The plain fact is....most maintenance electricians are not...er, the most highly trained group.

Go to any gummint website and see the requirements for the maintenance jobs. Some are different, and the guy who is well trained, and wants to keep up with his field is a gem who will/can go far, good luck.

One of the items I would look for is ANY cross training, or understanding of another discipline. Go get an HVAC gas cert, take a boiler class of any kind, etc., should put you over the top brother.