ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
F
frank Offline OP
I work in a hospital and today I was called to repair a large bakers oven that shorted out after the cook had cleaned it(they turned it on to dry it out) It took a total of 5 minutes to find the door switch was the problem and after calling around for parts it became apparent I wasn't going to find one soon.the door switch is just a micro switch that is rivited on to a bracket/plunger combanation.After a closer look i realized that i had these switches in stock so i ground off the rivets and replaced it with screws,lock washers, and a dab of locktight for extra measure and replaced the original fish paper it was wrapped in.Also I had noticed that this circuit was protected by a 15 amp fuse while the original micro switch was rated at 10 amp?After I was satisfied with the repair I did the usual stuff like check the motor starter contacts,check chassis ground continuity with other nearby grounded equipment,check all terminal screw tightness ect.the cook comes and I have her run it through a cycle and she says its great so I pack up my stuff and leave.After getting home the kitchen supervisor calls me up and says theres a guy here from one of the places I had called looking for parts.He has the oven apart and is saying its not running prope