ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#49507 03/08/05 01:39 AM
P
pf483 Offline OP
I am trying to get a job as an apprentice so I can take apprenticeship classes offered by my county in the fall (you have to be employed and sponsored in order to take them). I have no experience in the field but am very interested in learning the trade and want to get started as soon as possible. I have been having a problem finding places to apply as everyone I call only wants people with experience. Any tips on where to start?
Also how much should I be putting down as desired salary (if any of this matters I am 21, 60 college credits, no experience in the field, and living in central NJ) at the one interview I did get I put down $10 an hour and they said that they may be interested but it would be a stretch to even pay me $8 without any experience. What is an average starting salary for apprentices without experience?
Also does anyone know of any schools I could go to without having to be employed in the field already so it would make it easier to get a job?
Thanks for any help you can give.

B
i started as a material handler @ $10