ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 254 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#46250 12/16/04 04:29 PM
R
royta Offline OP
Yeah, I know it sounds bad, but it's true. All of the sub-panels I've installed were supplied by my employer and I just did the work. Well, I'm just starting out as a self-employed electrician, and could use a little advice on my first real sub-panel job.

Main panel is located at house. Sub-panel will be 120/240 single phase and will be located at well. There will be 300 feet of conduit, with the first 100 feet in IMC, and the final 200 feet terminating at the sub-panel in PVC. The sweep transitioning from the horizontal conduit to vertical into the sub-panel will be rigid so I don't cut a groove in 90 while pulling in the wire.

Pump guy needs a single 2-pole 20A circuit for the main pump, and space for a second 2-pole 20A circuit for future use. The future circuit would be used for a second pump that would pump water from a possible future storage tank to the house. I'll also install a 1-pole 20A for a couple receps and a light. A 50A sub-panel feed should do it. The hots will be #6 and the ground will be #10, but I'm wondering if I can run #8 for the neutral. What code allows downsizing the neutral for a sub-panel?

Sub-panel questions: