ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
M
Hello, I am a newbie. I hope someone can give me some advice.
My electric meter is currently in my backyard in the middle of the house. The service drop comes from the pole in the corner of my backyard, coming at a diagonal over my deck. It is only 11 ft up from my deck and the wires are unsightly so I am looking to move the meter to the side of the house, the same side as the pole.
This is my dilemma: By relocating the meter the breaker panel in my basement is now 20 ft away, requiring me to have a main breaker outside. My other option is to relocate the breaker panel to the same side as the meter panel. I no longer need the breaker outside but now I have to run 13 "jumper" circuits from where the old panel was to where the new panel is going, which is not that bad since my basement has some access points in the ceiling.
So which is better or more desirable?

I
Without being there and seeing all the variables it is tough to give an answer.

In general in my opinion it is easer to leave the existing panel in place and re feed it.

Remember this panel will now be a sub panel and the neutrals and grounds will need to be separated. Also the grounding electrode system will need to be relocated to the new service disconnect location.