ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 144 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#43433 10/13/04 07:35 PM
C
I have some fire alarm experience but I never worked on one with an elevator in the building.

What is "elevator recall," and how does it work?

Thanks,
Peter

Peter
#43434 10/13/04 08:03 PM
J
Peter,

Elevator recall returns the car, normally to the lobby, so that it cannot be used by the occupants. It also is now available for the fire department. They should have a key to override the controls.

#43435 10/13/04 08:16 PM
I
Hi Peter. I do not know if it is the same everywhere but for this area elevator recall works like this.

A smoke detector is installed in front of every elevator door. When one of these smoke detectors trips it sends a signal to the elevator control system.

We provide two signals Primary and Secondary.

Primary and secondary floors are chosen, typical the primary floor is the floor with easiest exit from the building.

If the primary floor is floor one, any smoke detector tripping on another floor sends the car to floor one.

If the smoke detector on floor one trips the elevator is sent to the secondary floor.

Once smoke is detected the cars make one trip to the assigned floor and park on that floor with the doors wide open.

The elevator is now unusable to all but the FD with the use of their key.