ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#3823 08/29/01 06:24 PM
Hi, I am a manager with the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency and have some questions regarding electrical safety. We are required to sample water wells which are run by large (220 or 440 volts electrical pumps. Commonly there is water on the ground or floor around the steel well casing and electric lines running to the pump from the service line. I was wondering if there are any ways we could be sure there isn't an electrical hazard around the well before we sample. Note: lock out tag out procedures won't work since we need the pump to be running to collect a water sample. Any advice you could give would be appreciated. Thanks!

Rich Bendula

[This message has been edited by Bill Addiss (edited 08-30-2001).]

Bill
#3824 08/30/01 09:05 AM
I moved this Topic from the Safety area to get more visibility. Anyone got any Ideas on this?

[Linked Image]
Bill

Bill
#3825 08/30/01 10:06 AM
M
I would think that wearing and using personnel protective equipment would be the ticket. Voltage rated insulated gloves. Voltage rated insulating mats. Mopping and drying out the work area wouldn't hurt either. Just my thoughts.

[This message has been edited by Mike (edited 08-30-2001).]

#3826 08/30/01 05:37 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered