ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Z
zappy Offline OP
what is the most home runs you have encounterend in a residential home. i ran 26 last week not including the low volt tv and phone lines. keep in mind i'm still learning!!!!! that was the most for me in a 200 amp service so far. just curious, is there a code for that sevice? i know your limited by the amout of breakers in the panel, but idiots can easily get around that.

C
CRW Offline
There are not codes about the absolute number of circuits in a house, but you can't have more than 42 in any single panel. There is a code about the total load vs. the size of the service, the service conductor size and main breaker size. Seeing as you said you are "green", maybe you should learn some more basic codes from the NEC before doing more house wiring.

M
Doing a large house now with well over 100 homeruns.

2 x 200A 42 circuit panels
150A sub for AC units
100A sub for general circuits
100A sub for pool equipment
50A sub for communication/automation equipment.

And we are still running out of space...

A
26 HR Does sound like a lot for 1 residential panel if you are using EMT.

A 3000sf home with the normal extras (2 central A/Cs, jacuzzi, pumps, DW, disp, microwave) we might have 10 or 12 HRs most are 3/4".
Something like this: