ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
E
Although I am a licensed electrician, I have not done a residential electrical service upgrade in many years. I am located im MA. Wondering if someone out there can help me out by explaining what the procedural steps are. For example after I take out a permit and contact the utility company, can I disconnect the overhead myself? Once I've finished the upgrade can I reconnect the overhead myself? If so, must the service be inspected prior to reconnecting? If I do the service on a Saturday, for example, will the utility company come out on a weekend or is it standard that I do a temp reconnect and jump the meter until the utility company gets out to redo the connection and put the new meter in place. Thanks for your help.

N
Procedures will vary depending on your area and utility.

Here in NJ, we disconnect and reconnect the overhead drop ourselves, but we reinstall the meter that was removed from the old service (unless it is damaged in some way). The utility comes around to make permanent connections and reseal the meter pan after the inspector issues a "cut-in card". Depending on the area, this could take weeks or even months....

E
http://www.cl-p.com/online/contractor/indexcontractor.asp