ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#33556 01/24/04 10:27 PM
M
Currently, I am a sub contractor for a Cable tv installation company. I am in tech school to learn electrical mechanics. Most of the career questions I ask here are for research, so that I can explore my diffrent options for the future. I was just curious if contractors use sub contractors for electrical purposes.

S
absolutely the best way to live up to your moniker mostwanted
[Linked Image]
most 'little guys' would rather sub out , thus circumventing mountains of bueracratic baloney

i recently batted around the idea of purchasing contractors insurance for a certain apprentice in town with 2 other EC's

the only prob is, we'd all want him at the same busier times of year....

~S~

G
We sub out all our Fire Alarm work.

G
I do a lot of "sub" work for 2 electrical contractors. Being an unlicensed partner to a licensee who wants out of the trade,it's helped me a lot.

They put me on the books as a "temporary" employee,and cover me with their workers comp and liability.

As Sparky said,it can get a little wild during the "busy" times tho.

Russell

M