ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (ampherder, Scott35), 261 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#32641 12/30/03 04:03 PM
T
timpday Offline OP
I am studying to be an electrician right now. Recently a friend of mine wanted to do some work on a spare room over his garage. The room was never really completed by the construction workers. It is basically bare floor, finished walls and a ceiling. Instead of my friend trying to do the electrical work himself, I thoughtfully volunteered. Here is my question, I know it is required to have a switch at the top of the stairs and one at the bottom (yes it is greater then six steps). There is a single pole switch at the bottom but no switch to be found at the top. AND the light sockets are energized with the bottom switch completely disconnected. And the bottom switch will turn the lights on and off. Is there an easy way of finding the top switch without ripping the sheetrock off the walls?

#32642 12/30/03 04:17 PM
I
I would bet there is no top switch (box) you will have to add one if you want one.

You will have to get 3 conductor cable from the bottom to top, directly or by way of the fixture box if you are taking about using 3 ways.

Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#32643 12/30/03 04:27 PM
T
timpday Offline OP