ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 205 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#28985 09/05/03 03:32 PM
R
I was an apprentice working with my dad. This was in about 1948. We were installing 1-1/4” EMT above a dropped ceiling. The EMT needed a kick. My dad bent it and handed it up to me. It wasn’t bent quite enough but I forced it onto the coupling. My dad said “Does it fit”? I said not quite but I made it. He said “Give it back to me”. I said why, no one’s going to see it. I have never forgotten his reply, “But I’ll know it’s there”!
Rowdy

#28986 09/05/03 04:46 PM
R
Sounds like a good man. You sound like a better man for not forgetting. Man, I wish I knew 1/2 of what my dad did. Sure miss him!!

Rick

#28987 09/05/03 06:24 PM
Rowdy,
“But I’ll know it’s there”!
This is one thing I have been trying to instill into the apprentices that I have trained.
A Tradesman is measured by thier workmanship or lack there of. [Linked Image]
Just can't stand the sight of rough or un-tidy Installation work!.

#28988 09/05/03 06:47 PM
I too can remember my dad, he was a tough guy and taught me the trade.

He once made me straighten out the tubing on a wall because his level showed where it was not straight, I said dad I only followed the block on the wall!

I say that they were "Seasoned Mechanics" and without them where would we be today.