ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 248 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#26132 05/30/03 09:13 PM
J
james S Offline OP
When i was an apprentice i asked the following question to diffrent electricians and was told it does not matter you will never need to know!!great answer.same answer with many other questions also asked. Step up the voltage current goes down, step down volts current increases. Georg simon ohm;the current in a circuit is proportional to the voltage (not inversely)?

#26133 05/30/03 09:29 PM
M
Ohm's law isn't the right law to use to prove or disprove transformers. It's like using the law gravity to prove water boils at 212º. Good law, but not really the right place to apply it.

I guess the best law to justify what transformers do is conservation of energy. Watts in = watts out.

But Ohms law does apply to each coil of a transformer, as long as you're taking your measurements on one complete loop, that is through only one coil at a time. Because the two coils (or however many there are) aren't directly attached but only interact by magnetic fields, ohms law doesn't work across a transformer, only through a continuous path such as through one of the coils of a transformer.