ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (Scott35, gfretwell), 269 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#22537 02/24/03 12:07 PM
B
Big A Offline OP
Hello All,

As some of you may know, my day job is working for a municipality as a traffic signal electrician. By night I do residential work. I am fully liscensed and insured.

My friend's, wife, and some of my customer's say that I should do this full time. They say that with a little advertising, I would be on my way. So far all of my work has come by word of mouth with one or two jobs coming from the sign on my truck.

My question is, how do you know? My day job is constanly looking worse and worse, (not because of lay-offs, just general BS) but it could be one of those "the grass is always greener" things. Any words of wisdom?

#22538 02/24/03 01:01 PM
E
It's always a though call to make.

I'd say if you have enough money to live off for a few months, especially if your wife has a job, it might be worth trying. But if you live 100% paycheck to paycheck, then you might want to wait until you save a little cash.