ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#217774 - 11/18/16 05:33 PM Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail?
gfretwell Offline


Member
Registered: 07/20/04
Posts: 9039
Loc: Estero,Fl,usa
Question from my wife. Do they make a handrail you can install in ungrounded (non conductive) cups?
They are having a problem because old folks are requiring handrails where they were not planned in construction.
No bond wire available.
_________________________
Greg Fretwell
Top
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#217775 - 11/19/16 11:30 AM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
mbhydro Offline
Member
Registered: 02/21/03
Posts: 347
Loc: Winnipeg MB Canada
This company in Florida says their Fiberglass rails are non conductive and meet or exceed code. they have above ground mounting bases

In their Faq there is a response why they have been tested and bonding is not required.

http://www.saftron.com/products/pool/pool-rails.html
Top
#217779 - 11/19/16 05:31 PM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
gfretwell Offline


Member
Registered: 07/20/04
Posts: 9039
Loc: Estero,Fl,usa
Thanks. I am surprised the inspector never heard of them. I will pass this along.
_________________________
Greg Fretwell
Top
#217782 - 11/20/16 12:37 PM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
mbhydro Offline
Member
Registered: 02/21/03
Posts: 347
Loc: Winnipeg MB Canada
No problem, just had a few minutes to kill and found them in Google search.
Top
#217783 - 11/20/16 08:42 PM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
gfretwell Offline


Member
Registered: 07/20/04
Posts: 9039
Loc: Estero,Fl,usa
I saw them too. I was really hoping for a happy AHJ story. wink


Maybe retrofitting handrails is just a Florida thing.
_________________________
Greg Fretwell
Top
#217789 - 11/21/16 07:52 AM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
HotLine1 Offline


Member
Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6778
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
Greg:
I've seem two (2) replacement rails that were installed, and had documentation for being non-conductive (UL)

Both were at HOAs pools earlier this year. Ironically, they were both installed to existing cups that passed the pool bonding certification test about 2 weeks before they were installed. Expensive item? I heard $750+.

Retested after they were installed, and cups were approved as 'pass'. Guess they had $$$ to burn.
_________________________
John
Top
#217790 - 11/21/16 09:29 AM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
gfretwell Offline


Member
Registered: 07/20/04
Posts: 9039
Loc: Estero,Fl,usa
OK Thanks John.
These will be new cups and all but that company says they have non-metallic cups too. I assume you had no issues with the strength of the rail?
_________________________
Greg Fretwell
Top
#217792 - 11/21/16 12:34 PM Re: Pools: is there a listed, nonconductive handrail? [Re: gfretwell]
HotLine1 Offline


Member
Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6778
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
Greg:
The Building and Health inspectors had no issues.
I felt it, and it was solid. No flex.

_________________________
John
Top

Member Spotlight
Member Since: 01/22/05
Posts: 5316
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
Featured:

2017 NEC and Related
2017 NEC
Now Available!

Shout Box


Who's Online
0 registered (), 95 Guests and 10 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
 
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
 
Top Posters (30 Days)
Admin 47
HotLine1 43
gfretwell 19
Ruben Rocha 12
Trumpy 9
 
Newest Members
Scotto, Freecrowder, clee512, Jdscott2005, FAIZAN

ECN Electrical Forums - sponsored by Electrical Contractor Network - Electrical and Code Related Discussion for Electrical Contractors, Electricians, Inspectors, Instructors, Engineers and other related Professionals