ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 279 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#214389 11/24/14 02:25 PM
Hi all!
I am Brazilian(living in brazil). I am an electrician with deep experience and diploma. I need to know if there is some way to engage a apprentice program in US. If positive how much it is competitive. I do not have any kind of permission to work in US but I will need to work soon to sustain myself.
It is possible to get an student visa for learning period?
Sorry my bad english.
Where can I start this jorney?
Thanks a lot.

G
You probably need to start by talking to US immigration. There are a couple of types of visa that you could get. I am not sure a student visa would work for an apprentice program.

Greg Fretwell
T
Your economic prospects are better in Brazil than in the US.

1) No growth -- particularly in the electrical and construction trades. Brazil is in exactly the opposite situation.

(Itaipu dam is still not fully tapped. It's the cheapest electricity in the hemisphere.)

2) Journeymen (electrician) wages have been going backwards for forty-years in the US. This is true for both union and non-union journeymen. [ inflation adjusted ]