ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
I am a student in mechanical engineering working on a personal project for which I need to use a 3-way switch triggered by a photosensor (one sensor for the on-position, and a different one for the off). Could someone point me to some resources that would help me to understand how this is done and how the circuitry is designed?

Attached Images
Switch.png
G
You will not be using a regular off the shelf IR detector unless you add some extra logic.
If you used the detector to pick a relay and then used a "D" flip flop it would work. You could also do it all with relays if you want to go "old school".

Greg Fretwell
T
I'm sorry, but could you clarify that some? My knowledge base is in mechanical systems - I could design this to be entirely mechanical but then I run into an issue when I am machining the parts for the thing. They would end up being overly complex for the system I am designing. Electric control seems a more streamlined and efficient method. But, again, I know next to nothing about the subject, so I need it expressed to me in layman's terms. Or if you could point me to where there are some resources for me to study, I would appreciate that as well.

G