ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#212547 01/21/14 08:16 PM
S
SamTech Offline OP
Greetings Electricians,
I am a computer tech in the S.F. Bay Area.
A customer of mine has been convinced by a local electrical contractor that extension cords should NEVER be used anywhere in her house.

This has led to some inconvenient moving of furniture just to get a lamp or stereo receiver close enough to an outlet to avoid an extension cord.
I understand why you wouldn't want to do dumb things with extension cords - like connect a microwave or fridge with a $3 ungrounded cord.
But recommending none, nowhere, never? Does that make any sense to you?

Thanks - Sam

Cat Servant
I suppose that this issue had to arise, sooner or later.

Extension cords, strictly speaking, are not forbidden. A properly sized cord is perfectly proper way to temporarily bring power to where you need it.

The key word here is 'temporarily.'

The code has rules for the placement of receptacles. Unfortunately, these rules are often used improperly as a 'design guide.' as a way for the contractor to do as little as possible, yet still 'meet code.' As a direct result, receptacle are often very poorly placed - at least, poorly placed for nearly ever occupant.