ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
G
Just seen this string. I sometimes feel a bit of an intruder here so I'll explain myself. I'm an electrical engineer who found employment in military aerospace. In my positions, over 35 years, as well as aircraft systems I was extensively involved in operating development engineering laboratories. This brought me into contact with contracting installers who had to cope with unusual systems, such as low voltage DC and 400Hz AC. We worked quite well together, mutually helping each other with all sorts of new installations. Grounding systems were the most difficult; almost, though not quite black magic, but close to it! We were after all trying to emulate the solid aluminium airframe in a laboratory environment!
Now in semi retirement I still find an interest in the technology of electrical installations, and still do my own household work, although this is now contrary to UK legislation, - (don't tell anyone because I'll deny it).

S
Deny what?...

"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Deny that he does electrical work on his own house.

I've been leery of posting in this thread because I wanted to remain somewhat secretive and anonymous... but I guess it wouldn't hurt, since I don't already have a bad rep here. grin