ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (Scott35, gfretwell), 271 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
M
I will probably ask my local inspector this but I get alot of panel upgrade request. I have not done any since I was an apprentice since I have spent most of my career in commercial and industrial.
I have looked at one panel so far and noticed that they ground the neutral to the copper water lines in the house. (Not the main coming in but the 1/2" cold water line)
Do you residential guys establish a new ground with a plate or rod when upgrading old fuse panels or is it even required since it is existing?

James

Never trust an electrician with no eyebrows!!
J
if you replace a panel you would need to ensure the grounding and bonding is code compliant. There is no exemption because it is existing when the scope of work is panel replacement. You may be required to upgrade other things in the panel if there are some obvious violations, as you cannot connect up something unsafe. The inspector may also request some branch circuit upgrades if the panel is really old, such as some additional kitchen circuits.

Definitely a good idea to chat with the inspector before pricing out the job so that there are no unpleasant surprises.

M
Mr. electrician