ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
M
Hello all. I have lurked around this site for awhile, but never posted. So...

For my first post, I have a somewhat 'thought provoking' question.

I am a 20 year veteran of this trade. I worked my way up from answering an ad that read "Electrical helper wanted, no experience necessary", to being a large commercial foreman, running projects nearing the $2 million mark.

I have built Nursing homes, 18 screen movie theatres, medical office buildings, A UPS facility, and a large variety of warehouse stores (Home Depots and Builders Squares)and other things I'm probably not recalling at the moment. I do quite well with all ends of the spectrum, from power distribution to all types of Low voltage systems (fire alarm, security, nurse call)and control work.

Through my years with various companies, I have worn all the hats, from foreman, to estimator, to project management.

I have always contemplated going into business for myself. As of late, I have become bored and burdened with my trade. I have realized that I have these feelings because I have become tired of performing for 'someone else'.