ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#200074 03/20/11 01:42 AM
M
MAH Offline OP
First off I'm an apprentice, so go easy smile

I recently learned that my supply authority will not allow 2 separate GFI devices to be fed from a 3 wire circuit. For example a 14/3 supplying 2 GFCI devices in a single box with the neutrals tapped in the box before the GFCI devices, the resulting answer to supplying these would be to run 2 runs of 14/2 to supply the devices. I have searched the code book for a couple of days now and have come up empty, maybe its a combination of rules that lead to this interpretation but I fail to see the difference of the joint in the box and the neutral bar in the panel.

MAH #200076 03/20/11 04:18 AM
E
Wow, that doesn't make any sense. The functionality of the GFI doesn't happen until it receives a feed. A shared neutral ahead of them shouldn't matter. I'm positive that the GFIs aren't going to know the difference.

---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
S
MAH,
Would this be in a location an AFCI is required?

~S~

MAH #200085 03/20/11 04:53 PM
M
MAH Offline OP
I will explain the particular situation to clarify