ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 251 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#198957 02/08/11 10:02 PM
M
Merlin Offline OP
I am doing an upgrade of network cabling in an office building (basically the grunt work). The network guy told me to run cat6 to all locations. I am fairly new to the data industry. Any suggestions as to Cat6 or cat6a, or anything special I should know?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

I understand the termination can take longer to do

G
Make very certain that you don't bend the cable sharply. Cat6 is extremely sensitive to bending radius. Most times even trying to straighten it out after it's been bent still results in the cable failing.

Watch out for any stub UP that you have to pull. If the whip that you pull gets stored in a coil waiting for the end of the job, just the cable hanging down over the end of the conduit can mess it up.