The Electrical Contractor Network

ECN Electrical Forum
Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals

Books, Tools and Test Equipment for Electrical and Construction Trades

Register Now!

Register Now!

We want your input!

Featured Items:

Switch Bit - Interchangeable Flex Bit System
>> Switch Bit -
Interchangeable Flex Bit System

>> 2014 NEC and Related

Recent Posts
Euro outlet in US kitchen
by gfretwell
12/19/14 09:42 AM
Norwegian power?
by Meadow
12/19/14 03:32 AM
derating rooftop conductors
by Tesla
12/19/14 12:54 AM
Need help with wire spec
by frank
12/18/14 09:01 PM
closet lights
by sparkync
12/18/14 06:56 PM
New in the Gallery:
Another find....
Shout Box

Top Posters (30 Days)
gfretwell 24
dsk 18
renosteinke 16
HotLine1 16
Tesla 15
Who's Online
4 registered (gfretwell, Tesla, ghost307, Webmaster), 109 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#197797 - 12/20/10 02:55 PM Splicing cables in cable tray?
Helectric Offline
Member

Registered: 01/07/05
Posts: 90
Loc: Brandon, SD
According to 392.8-A of the 2008 NEC, I'm allowed to splice cables in a cable tray as long as they are "made and insulated by approve methods. Does anyone have an opinion on what constitutes an approved method? I realize that the code's defanition of approved is "acceptable to the authority having juristiction" but am looking for opinions on best practices.

Top
2014 / 2011 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#197804 - 12/20/10 05:00 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
HotLine1 Offline

Member

Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6325
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
Basically, a crimp splice, insulated as required.
_________________________
John

Top
#197807 - 12/20/10 05:15 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: HotLine1]
Tesla Online   content
Member

Registered: 06/16/04
Posts: 1215
Loc: Sacramento, CA
I'd think an Ilsco 'mechanical' compression lug/splice barrel would be the ticket.
_________________________
Tesla

Top
#197811 - 12/21/10 06:42 AM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Tesla]
HotLine1 Offline

Member

Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6325
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
OK, the 'Polaris' type blocks would work also.
_________________________
John

Top
#198881 - 02/06/11 06:23 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
nercGerald Offline
Member

Registered: 02/05/11
Posts: 15
Loc: North Pole, Alaska
We used Raychem splice kits up north (Prudhoe Bay) and on the pipeline. 3M is another good one. I have in a bind used split bolt connectors with rubber tape and Scotch 88 over that with a sealer over that, but they were never inspected by an inspector. The kits are better.

Top
#199050 - 02/11/11 07:04 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
PAteenlectrician Offline
Member

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 69
Loc: Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
Welcome

Top
#199055 - 02/11/11 08:57 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
gl53 Offline
New Member

Registered: 02/01/11
Posts: 4
Loc: Texas
As a personal practice I use crimp type devices over wire nuts, split bolts or terminal lugs. Connection blocks need a large amout of space in my opinion to make room for servicing the connection in the future. If there is an isue of multiple splices I would the use a termination box. Last, an approved splice replaces the insulation charactoristics of the cable. Not only voltage, but temperature and environmental protection. A double layer of half lap rubber followed by a double layer of half lap 33 covers a large percentage of insulation types.

Having Fun
-Gary

Top
#199085 - 02/12/11 09:34 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
PAteenlectrician Offline
Member

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 69
Loc: Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
What about twist-tin-tape?

Top



ECN Electrical Forums - sponsored by Electrical Contractor Network - Electrical and Code Related Discussion for Electrical Contractors, Electricians, Inspectors, Instructors, Engineers and other related Professionals