ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#197797 - 12/20/10 02:55 PM Splicing cables in cable tray?
Helectric Offline
Member
Registered: 01/07/05
Posts: 90
Loc: Brandon, SD
According to 392.8-A of the 2008 NEC, I'm allowed to splice cables in a cable tray as long as they are "made and insulated by approve methods. Does anyone have an opinion on what constitutes an approved method? I realize that the code's defanition of approved is "acceptable to the authority having juristiction" but am looking for opinions on best practices.
Top
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#197804 - 12/20/10 05:00 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
HotLine1 Offline


Member
Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6776
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
Basically, a crimp splice, insulated as required.
_________________________
John
Top
#197807 - 12/20/10 05:15 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: HotLine1]
Tesla Offline
Member
Registered: 06/16/04
Posts: 1273
Loc: Sacramento, CA
I'd think an Ilsco 'mechanical' compression lug/splice barrel would be the ticket.

_________________________
Tesla
Top
#197811 - 12/21/10 06:42 AM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Tesla]
HotLine1 Offline


Member
Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 6776
Loc: Brick, NJ USA
OK, the 'Polaris' type blocks would work also.
_________________________
John
Top
#198881 - 02/06/11 06:23 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
nercGerald Offline
Member
Registered: 02/05/11
Posts: 15
Loc: North Pole, Alaska
We used Raychem splice kits up north (Prudhoe Bay) and on the pipeline. 3M is another good one. I have in a bind used split bolt connectors with rubber tape and Scotch 88 over that with a sealer over that, but they were never inspected by an inspector. The kits are better.
Top
#199050 - 02/11/11 07:04 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
PAteenlectrician Offline
Member
Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 64
Loc: Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
Welcome
Top
#199055 - 02/11/11 08:57 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
gl53 Offline
New Member
Registered: 02/01/11
Posts: 4
Loc: Texas
As a personal practice I use crimp type devices over wire nuts, split bolts or terminal lugs. Connection blocks need a large amout of space in my opinion to make room for servicing the connection in the future. If there is an isue of multiple splices I would the use a termination box. Last, an approved splice replaces the insulation charactoristics of the cable. Not only voltage, but temperature and environmental protection. A double layer of half lap rubber followed by a double layer of half lap 33 covers a large percentage of insulation types.

Having Fun
-Gary
Top
#199085 - 02/12/11 09:34 PM Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric]
PAteenlectrician Offline
Member
Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 64
Loc: Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
What about twist-tin-tape?
Top

Member Spotlight
Member Since: 11/17/00
Posts: 2232
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
Featured:

2017 NEC and Related
2017 NEC
Now Available!

Shout Box


Who's Online
1 registered (ghost307), 67 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
 
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
 
Top Posters (30 Days)
Admin 49
HotLine1 43
gfretwell 18
Ruben Rocha 12
Trumpy 9
 
Newest Members
Freecrowder, clee512, Jdscott2005, FAIZAN, Regitest2

ECN Electrical Forums - sponsored by Electrical Contractor Network - Electrical and Code Related Discussion for Electrical Contractors, Electricians, Inspectors, Instructors, Engineers and other related Professionals