ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#190081 11/05/09 04:52 PM
J
james S Offline OP

Hi all,

i have not wrote on this site for a while but nw have the following problem that i have pondered over for a while!

I am currently a service engineer on varable speed 3.6 MW wind turbines and know that they use a asynchronous generator to convert the winds Kinetic energy into electrical energy, then convert the output varying AC supply from the asynchronous generator to DC then from DC back to the grid frequency of 50Hz AC using high power thyristors.
My question is with the start up of the asynchronous generator.

The below document i have been reading states;

"Grid Connection Required
On the page about the permanent magnet synchronous generator we showed that it could run as a generator without connection to the public grid.
An asynchronous generator is different, because it requires the stator to be magnetised from the grid before it works.