ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Samurai Offline OP
I'll give a little background first, I have a master electrician's license in Florida. Work in Florida has all but ground to a halt with exception of some very large companies; but there are lots of places elsewhere looking for licensed journeymen. I wonder why there isn't a national minimum recognition of a master's license in one state as at least a journeyman everywhere else. the tests are all based on national code a downgrade to journeyman elsewhere also removes the immediate threat of competition coming along from someplace else. I'd like to hear thoughts on this.

Last edited by pauluk; 07/26/08 05:29 AM. Reason: Tidied up UBB codes
Cat Servant
I'm not sure I understand your complaint, question, or desire.

True, the trade is regulated in widely varying ways in different places. It is also true that this regulation is often claimed to primarily exist for restricting competition.

Yet, such claims need support. It's just too easy an assertion to make. Ditto for similarly cynical claims as to access to apprenticeship programs.

Whatever credentials you have, they will be critical in placement of you by the various trade-related employment services.