ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 08:39 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 04:29 PM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
Test Post
by sabrown - 03/06/24 05:29 PM
Solar PV Wiring Errors
by renosteinke - 03/02/24 09:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 94 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
J
Jza Offline OP
I'm new to the trade, 300 hours for a local commertial company here in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. I'm interested in learning more about phases, voltages and their advantages.

Would anyone care to explain? 347, 208, 120, 240, 600?

I get confused when talking about peek to peek voltage and RMS.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

J
JBD Offline
Only electronics people worry about peak-peak voltages.

In the electrical (power) world we only use RMS voltages. In the US the National Electrical Code has a section that requires us to only use the nominal RMS voltage for supply system calculations.

J
Jza Offline OP
hmm, alright. i'd still like information about phases and voltage.

T
twh Offline
Electricity is like water. It has pressure and flow. We call the pressure "volts" and the flow "amps".