ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#174347 02/02/08 10:44 AM
T
Hello,

I work as a technician in a tubing mill. Unfortunately there are some occasions when the tube will "bend" or "buckle" in the mill causing it "shoot out" of the stands. This is extremely dangerous.

To minimize the danger, we install limit switches to to trip if the tube bends. The problem with this is it is difficult to tell which direction the tube will bend, and it is possible for the tube to actually destroy the limits without actually tripping them.

Someone came up with the idea to wire a 24 volt transformer-
wire the hot to a 24 volt control relay coil. Ground the neutral side of the xformer and run the neutral wire from the coil to a piece of copper tubing which will "wrap" around the tube.

When the tube bends, this will energize the relay and we can trigger an e-stop.
I like the idea but... I think it's dangerous and it goes against everything I've learned.
To me we have an UNINSULATED ENERGIZED CONDUCTOR mounted at chest level for the operators to adjust.
We are using the grounded nuetral and the equipment grounding neutral interchangeably. It just seems wrong to me on a lot of different levels.
Everyone is looking at me like I'm over-reacting and saying "it's just 24 volts."