ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (Scott35, gfretwell), 275 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Bolt3 Offline OP
I'm in my first year of EE at University and it's become abundantly clear that I won't be able to pass the higher level classes without some intense, highly-paid tutoring and/or graphing calculator haxing. I know they say engineers make a lot of money right out of school, but it seems like it's going to take me five or even six years just to get through the program. Also, I was looking in the classified ads and there was an ad for an engineer with starting pay ~40k. I know that's on the low end, but that's where I fear I'll end up as I'm not the brightest bulb in the metaphorical shed of math-loving virgins.

So I want to know, is there a demand for electricians these days? How long would I have to be an apprentice (read: bitch) until I could get my license? And last but not least, are y'all rich?

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
W