ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#169880 10/18/07 10:36 PM
A
AndyM Offline OP
I am a power electrical engineer & have learned (the hard way) that I am better at electrical work on paper then hands-on. I have had an electrican do some work at my house including replacing an old (~30 yrs) duplex receptacle that feeds a clothes washer. This outlet had no issues other then being old. He replaced it with a GFCI for the reasons of its in the unfinished basement. Unfortuntely the GFCI is operating when the washer is running. During 1 washing cycle it tripped twice.

As I understand the operation of a GFCI it monitors the line & neutral lines & operates if there is over a few millaamps difference between them. So I see that maybe the washer has some intermittent internal fault or short but do GFCIs have a know issue with false operations under certain 'non-fault' conditions?

I have the electrican coming back & I have stopped using the receptacle, but am more interested in getting more info for when the electrican comes back.

Thanks in advance for any info.

Andy
Thanks

AndyM #169884 10/18/07 10:55 PM
W