ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 263 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#167426 08/12/07 12:17 PM
H
Has anyone out there had or had any problem with stray voltage around pools. I am a working AHJ and I was a contractor for 15 years in my own business. I have seen stray voltage with fiberglass pools only so far. I realize that the 2005 NEC and the changes to sec. 680.26 try to resolve those problems. I was just wondering if anyone had problems with metal pools or the rebar type of inground pools.

A
Several years ago a new in ground pool, rebar and vinyl liner, was causing a major confusion. The GFI receptacle at the pool would trip, with the circuit breaker for it in the off position. It would also trip when the wire to the breaker was disconnected. Only the ground and neutral were connected !
A house about 500 feet away had an open neutral and the pool was acting as a partial return path for their service.
This was with the older style GFI receptacles before they added the indicator lights.
It was a real head scratcher until it was tracked down.
Another installation was for a hot tub sitting on top of the ground about 8 feet from the UG service. The utilty company xformer in thee back yard had a loose neutral connection and people using the pool would get a tingle when they stepped out of the tub.