ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (gfretwell, Scott35), 262 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#164870 06/13/07 11:11 AM
N
nyerinf Offline OP
I'm an electrician by trade, but ive done some low voltage work before, anyway I'm trying to figure out patch panels and am having some trouble. If I have an office space with say 4 ports on each data plate, one data, one voice, one fax and one spare port. If for each of these I ran a cat 5e homerun back to the telcom room CAN I tie all 4 of these into the patch panel or MUST the voice/fax get a seperate punchdown block? and can I put an RJ45 connector on them to the front of the patch panel or do they get punched down internally like a 110 block? and if not what exactly would be plugged into the front of the patch panel? like where does the incomming feed get tied into? sorry if theres a lot of questions but I dont want to sub this type of thing out when I know I'd be able to do it myself, any help for these questions or anything else you guys think I should know to install a patch panel would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

E