ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 259 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Hi all,
I am a newby contractor that has not had the benefit of many hard knocks. Thought this would be a good forum to compile a knowledge base of common business mistakes to avoid. Kind of a self defense class for New EC's? I appreciate your input.
Ideas? How about these subjects?
Chapter 1 Customer Cheats
Chapter 2 Other Contracter Games
Chapter 3 The GC does what?
Chapter 4 To avoid payment, just.....

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
E
e57 Offline
Contracting is about CONTRACTS! Shake the hand after one is signed.

Contracting is about CONTRACTS! The devil is in the details. Start/end, payment/schedule, terms and closure.

Contracting is about CONTRACTS! Vagaries are mis-conceptions that lead to unhappy customers who don't pay bills or worse sue you.

Contracting is about CONTRACTS! Never pay someone else for the privilege of working for them. Sweat equity does not buy much.

Contracting is about CONTRACTS! You need to spend money to make money, and need to make money to spend money to make money...

Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Z
Well said e57 - Contracting is about CONTRACTS!

Read a few sample contracts from other contractors. Compare, and make sense of the variations that you see.