ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 248 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#160040 05/04/05 11:36 AM
W
I am an EC and looking to getting into the structured wiring/whole house audio/home theater market. I have taken the Leviton training and have experience terminating CatV and fiber when I worked as a union hand at Los Alamos Labs. That was several years ago but other than changes in fiber terminations, I know I can handle the rest. My questions are these: What other training should I look for? What is the going rate for the differnt type of installs, i.e. per CatV drop, coax drop, speaker run, panel install, module installs, etc. I live in North Texas so I am sure the rates are different for those of you in the north and east, but I have no idea what a fair price would be. I am still working at learning all the terminology so I can be comfortable with it when I talk to my future customers, I understand what it means and all but just am not "fluent". I have a couple of customers ready for me to do the work, but I don't know how to price it? Any advice? I still do my electrical contracting and will try to do the whole house, electrical and low voltage if possible. So for you experienced VDV people out there, I am listening. All advice/recommendations/cautions/etc. is welcome. Oh yea I am a one man shop and don't have a crew to train