ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#159258 11/18/06 07:49 PM
B
bot540 Offline OP
I am a fairly new contractor and looking into advertising. I was wondering what is a sucessful way to start advertising. I was thinking first I will have my truck lettered and then the yellow pages.

Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3
Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
Cat Servant
Having a neat truck, properly labled, is almost an "essential." Not only does it attract business, it suddenly makes you "legitimate" in everyone's eyes.

Yellow pages are of value in direct proportion to how much of your business is based upon dealing with the general public. You might be surprised to learn that there are many contractors -licensed, bonded, legit, with fabulous bond limits- who aren't even in the white pages!

Advertising is effective only as far as it reaches the folks you want as customers. The means therefore depend upon on just who that market is. For example, a simple post-card campaign can be quite successful. "Know your customer."

S
I’ve only been on my own for a couple of months now. Best I've done is put up card on any store that has a pegboard, talk to local lighting specialty stores, and the signs on the van. So for doing all right.

R
REW Offline