ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 540 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#158379 04/29/06 07:29 PM
R
Bob, I'm an electrical contractor. I contract to do jobs at a fixed price. By definition, I get paid by the piece. Only electrical contractors who do T&M are compensated by the hour.

So you're saying that it's ridiculous to think that I can do a job as well as a contractor doing the same job T&M.

That's an interesting conclusion.

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
#158380 04/29/06 07:33 PM
R
Mahlere, I think I'm going to come up with a piecework program, but put in a safety net for my men, for example, after each day, they can choose either $15 an hour or piecework. This way they are not penalized if I do not estimate the hours correctly.

I might make some tasks strictly hourly, like demo, and other, more repetitive tasks piecework. A hybrid approach.

#158381 04/29/06 08:29 PM
M
I'm sitting here watching the "Deadliest Catch" mini-marathon on Discovery Channel.

Do you think those guys would risk their life for an hourly rate?

Do think they could possibly be guaranteed $2000+/day?

I don't, however, by essentially getting paid piecework and busting their hump, they get paid better than alot of contractors.