ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
spygrrl Offline OP
Hello there - I've lurked on and off for the last 6 months, but this is my first post.

I am the admin for a very small electrical contractor. We're just a start-up and though I've experience running a business office, this is my first time in the trades, and I'm lacking some industry specific knowledge.

A large remodeler with whom we have a contract called us on a Saturday; his client was having a problem with stuff not working. We had just been in the day before so figured someone goofed up somewhere.

We sent one of our employees in to fix it. It turned out to be a no-brainer - this homeowner apparently fancies himself a bit of electrician (according to the guys, has pipe benders, etc. of his own). Well, he must've been playing around with some things and forgot what he was doing - because the darn breaker was switched off! (At least it wasn't an error on our part)

We have been working on a policy of OT calculated on a weekly basis (vs. daily basis). That is, we pay OT after 40 hrs per week - not after 8 hrs per day. Our payroll period runs Sat - Fri. This allows us to give our guys some flexibility re: making up missed hours, especially since all but one have kids.