ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 270 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#156590 05/20/05 04:20 PM
W
whtybry Offline OP
So I have been a licensed electrician for sometime now and get alot of customers who want me and only me to do the work. I also get alot of leads and new customers. So with this idea I have thaught about venturing out on my own. My biggest worry right now is getting enough money or backing to start up. IE a van, advertising, insurance, bonds, equipment, stock and etc.

So how much should I shoot for in funding and where would my best bet for getting any backing be?

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
#156591 05/20/05 07:38 PM
A
I would take it one step at a time and try to avoid a big loan. Try by getting your insurance & truck first.

First you need to ask yourself if all those jobs you have now will pay a rate to cover your business. I can't tell you how much but it could be $60-70/hr. Many guys start out doing side work for a bit more than the day job pays. Because it's cash, they have no overhead, & a steady pay check it seems like good money.

You need to have some $$ in the bank to cover your personal needs for at least 3-6 months.